Snapple Bowl XXII Set For Thursday Night


EDISON — Snapple Bowl XXII, which is closing in on a half a million dollars raised for disabled children, will take place Thursday, July 16 at Kean University at 7 p.m.

The game, which was first held in 1994, will feature recently-graduated standouts from Middlesex County vs. Union County. The game has raised $485,000 for the Lakeview School in Edison and the Children’s Specialized Hospital in Mountainside.


Tickets for the game can be purchased for $10 at the gate.

Former long-time East Brunswick head coach Marcus Borden founded the game and continues to be the Game Director.

Middlesex leads the all-time series, 13-8. Middlesex has won three in a row and eight of the last nine.


1994: Middlesex 35-14 at Union H.S. MVP Khamisi Jackson, Monroe

1995: Union 17-15 at Sayreville H.S. MVP Jaime Allen, Summit

1996: Middlesex 21-6 at Union H.S. MVP Kenny Rogers, South Brunswick

1997: Union 28-7 at East Brunswick H.S. MVP Louis Campbell, Rahway

1998: Middlesex 33-7 at Union H.S. MVP Luke Ciannello, Dunellen

1999: Middlesex 24-7 at East Brunswick H.S. MVP: Jeff LeSeur, Perth Amboy

2000: Union 27-21 at Union H.S. MVP Bill Gilbert, Elizabeth

2001: Union 17-16 at East Brunswick H.S. MVP Brandon Bracey, Linden

2002: Middlesex 28-20 at Kean University. MVP Zack Earvin, South River

2003: Union 13-0 at East Brunswick H.S. MVP Mike Vicci, Johnson

2004: Union 19-7 at East Brunswick H.S. MVP Jan Cocozziello, Westfield

2005: Union 21-14 at Kean University. MVP Chris Dreschel, Cranford

2006: Middlesex 13-7 at South Brunswick H.S. MVP Herbert Nieves, Sayreville

2007: Middlesex 17-10 at Kean University. MVP Ariel Adams, New Brunswick

2008: Middlesex 14-7 at East Brunswick H.S. MVP James White, Piscataway

2009: Middlesex 24-6 at Kean University. MVP Michael Burton, South Plainfield

2010: Middlesex 28-14 at East Brunswick H.S. MVP Mike Muha, South Brunswick

2011: Union 28-6 at Kean University. MVP Darius Mayers, Roselle

2012: Middlesex 39-15 at East Brunswick H.S. MVP Cody Zalasar, Woodbridge

2013: Middlesex 30-28 at Kean University. MVP Abdel Ragab, Edison

2014: Middlesex 34-20 at Sayreville H.S. MVP Matt Olivo, St. Joseph


The home team is 9-12 in the all-time series.

There has only been one shutout — Union 13-0 in 2003

Middlesex owns the longest winning streak of five — 2006-2010

Middlesex has outscored Union overall, 376-331

Middlesex averages 17.9 points per game, Union 15.7

South Brunswick is the only school with more than one MVP — Kenny Rogers in 1996, Mike Muha in 2010.

                             MIDDLESEX ROSTER:

rost                                MIDDLESEX CHEERLEADERS



Middlesex Coaching Staff

Ben LaSala Colonia
Tom Roarty Colonia
Joe LaSala Colonia
Mike Henderson Colonia
Andy Steinfeld East Brunswick
Brian Cherepski East Brunswick
Bill Nyers Woodbridge
Brian Holt South Plainfield
Keith Kapinos Carteret
Colleen Meyers Spotswood (cheerleading)
Jackie Cassidy Spotswood (cheerleading)
Alexis D’Andrea J.F. Kennedy (trainer)
Kasey Netta Colonia (trainer)


Marissa Greenstein-Plancher East Brunswick
Karan Patel Colonia
Adriana Kania East Brunswick

                             UNION ROSTER


                               UNION CHEERLEADERS

uncheerUnion Coaching Staff

Scott Miller Brearley
John Stark Scotch Plains
Rich McGriff Scotch Plains
Al Chiola Linden
Anthony Reinoso Linden
Lou Grasso Union
Mike Ryan Roselle
Keon Wade Roselle
James Williams Roselle
Joe Corrollo New Providence
Rob Harmer New Providence
Nikki Savino Mulcahy Cranford
Seth Moncrease Hillside
Ryan Jayne Brearley (trainer)

You must be logged in to post a comment Login